Design patterns in JS

During my initial time frame as a Software Engineer, I did not put much heed and effort or the deserved respect for Javascript. But when you advance in the local software development arena, staying out of or being ignorant of Javascript is almost impossible. Although I didn’t have much respect for JS earlier, it didn’t take much time to develop a profound respect for this language in a short while. I do like Python as a programming language too, maybe I just love scripting languages. Anyway, I found that JS is a language that is very popular but is not being used the right way like 90%. For most of the developers JS is about a framework, and they don’t give a rats ass about the basic underlying mechanics and the intricacies of the language. I had the opportunity to play with a lot of JS frameworks and stuff, but it sort of felt like going on autopilot without knowing the mechanics of it all.

I must say the number of sources for learning Javascript are overwhelming. This is kind of the reason that it’s all a jumble. Most of the stuff talks about derivations or their own personal interpretations of the language. Now I do realize that some of those interpretations are accepted in the community as a standard because they just work and get the job done. People take them for granted. There’s nothing wrong with that. But isn’t it like believing in a religion. Someone says that this is what’s going on in the world and this is how we should face it, but don’t you really wanna know whats going on underneath. That’s a bit too harsh of a metaphor, but it just came to my mind. Anyway, That’s why whenever I’m reading an article on JS, I go deep to the source as far as it goes. This works because the article writers are nice enough to reference their sources. By this way I’ve found quite some interesting articles about the underlyings of JS. I will share with you those articles in the coming posts as best as I can. Be patient, grasshopper.

We all learn about design patterns from our university times. And we get to use them in various implementations in our projects and if we are lucky enough, get to really apply them after school as well. There are many resources about design patterns, and many of them are described using programming languages like Java or C++.  When I stumbledupon a article describing the design patterns in a JS perspective, it immediately grabbed my attention.

cover

This book is very thorough, just the way I like it. It doesn’t have the best and attractive use of language, but it does get the big point across. Although I have been aware of design patterns and had been using them in my work, I didn’t get the comfortable hang of it as much as I liked to. It would be really cool as a software developer to know about the design patterns and just come up with solutions using them instantly as the need requires, isn’t it? But that’s a perfect scenario. I have been reading this book for a while now, and realize now that it’s ideas needs to be shared. In the coming JS design pattern series of posts I will strive by the best of my ability to describe the patterns in it with my analysis.

 

Image | This entry was posted in Design Patterns, Javascript and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

